The Ministry of Science and Technology has rewarded outstanding staff of the Ministry as part of its efforts to have a highly motivated, efficient, hardworking and result-oriented workforce that will achieve the goal of the Ministry.

At the performance award ceremony for outstanding staff of the Ministry event which took place today Tuesday 19th June, 2018 in Abuja. The Minister of Science and Technology, Dr.Obgonnaya Onu said that the aim is to reward   excellence, creativity, inventiveness, innovation, hard work, dedication, productivity and commitment to duty as well as patriotism and love of the country.

According to the Minister, “if we are to diversify our economy in a sustainable manner and remain competitive in the world, it became clear that this difficult and challenging task can only be effectively executed by the Federal Ministry of Science and Technology”

“By these awards we want to encourage workers to give their best in the service of our dear nation” he added

The award, which was given in  five  categories include Honourable Minister’s outstanding performance award for directorate cadre, ,Honourable Minister’s outstanding performance award for senior cadre, and Honourable Ministers’ outstanding performance award for junior staff cadre.

Others are Permanent Secretary’s productive Award (service department) and Permanent Secretary’s Innovative award (technical department). All the categories of awards, has first, second and third positions and attracts different class of gifts.

Mr. Ekanem Udo, the Director Science and Technology Promotion came top in the Directorate category followed by Agoro Olayiwola an Assistant Director and Ajibola Olajide another Assistant Director respectively.

The award for the senior staff category went to Ukpem Emmanuel, Ifeobu Ezenwa and Obije Ochebe while the junior staff award went to Mr. Sunday John Obot, Everlyn Ugwu and Adebayo Olarotimi.

The Permanent Secretary Productive award Service department went to Lawal Sagir , Nathaniel Ujah, Itsuokor Lawrence and Olumide Akindele respectively. While that of technical department went to Stella Igwilo, Michael Fut and Zahara’u yahaya respectively.

In his remarks, the Permanent Secretary of the Ministry Mr. Bitrus Bako Nabasu said that recognition of excellence in any Organisation should be an event that spurs rivalry between Employees thereby boosting staff performance.

According to The Nabasu, it would also motivate those that could not be honoured and want to be recognised in future. It also puts the awardee on their toes to want always be at the top.


Edet Ekpenyong Etuk

Assistant Chief Information Officer

For head, Head Press and Public Relation Unit

19 June, 2018.