Our History

The Federal Ministry of Science and Technology, Nigeria is one of the strategic Ministries of Government saddled with the responsibility of facilitating the development and deployment of Science, Technology and Innovation to enhance the pace of Socio-economic development of the country.

The Federal Ministry of Science and Technology was established on 1st January, 1980 by Act No1 of 1980, as the successor organ of Government to the National Science and Technology Development Agency (NSTDA) which was established in 1976. By January, 1984, the Ministry was merged with the Federal Ministry of Education. Hence it was renamed, Federal Ministry of Education, Science and Technology. By 1985, the Ministry was demerged and named the Federal Ministry of Science and Technology. In its chequered history, the Ministry was again scrapped in 1992 and its research institutes and parastatals were shared among other Ministries and Agencies including the Federal Ministry of Industry, Agriculture, Health and the National Agency for Science and Engineering Infrastructure (NASENI). After scrapping the Ministry in 1992, NASENI was established as an arm of government for the formulation and implementation of S&T policies. Following the need to centrally coordinate R&D activities, the S&T Unit was created in the Presidency in the same year.

The Ministry was again re-established on 26th August, 1993 and the Science and Technology Unit (STU) in the Presidency became the nucleus of the new Ministry. Some of its research institutes previously transferred to other Ministries were returned to operate under the purview of the New Federal Ministry of Science and Technology. The Ministry is currently supervising 17 Research and Development Institutions and interfacing with other cognate MDAs to diversify the economy.