Welcome to The Federal Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation

The Federal Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation, Nigeria is one of the strategic Ministries of Government saddled with the responsibility of facilitating the development and deployment of Science, Technology and Innovation to enhance the pace of Socio-economic development of the country.

The Federal Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation was established on 1st January, 1980 by Act No1 of 1980, as the successor organ of Government to the National Science and Technology Development Agency (NSTDA) which was established in 1976. By January, 1984, the Ministry was merged with the Federal Ministry of Education. Hence it was renamed, Federal Ministry of Education, Science and Technology. By 1985, the Ministry was demerged and named the Federal Ministry of Science and Technology. In its chequered history, the Ministry was again scrapped in 1992 and its research institutes and parastatals were shared among other Ministries and Agencies including the Federal Ministry of Industry, Agriculture, Health and the National Agency for Science and Engineering Infrastructure (NASENI).

Latest News


IDB To Facilitate Commercialization


Islamic Development Bank IDB has commenced the process of facilitating the Nigerian private sectors on the commercialization of Nigerian research 

Read More

COMSATS: 4th International Workshop


Communique of the 4th International workshop on applications of ICTS in Education, Health Care and Agriculture held at the Obasanjo

Read More

Technologies Driven Project

FMST Project

The Honourable Minister of Science and Technology Dr. Ogbonnaya Onu have embarked on a tour of the South Eastern Zone of the country.  The Minister was on tour of the zone to flag-off, inspect and unveil projects .

Read More.